Our history begins in the 16th century..
as a Maori village of the Waitaha tribe, named “Kapukariki”; meaning the little Kapuka tree.
The river and village were later named after Sir Edward Cust, who was a prominent member of the Canterbury association, which arranged early NZ settlement and immigrant ships to Canterbury (1850-1853).
By 1866 there were already 150 houses and around 500 people living in the Cust area.
The Cust Museum contains a full and fascinating look back into our past. Located in the old Water supply board building on Main Rd.( entry free: 2-4pm Sundays)
Cust School celebrates 150 years
Photo’s show the 1st School and the replacement on the current school site.
The Cust Motorcycle Grand prix 1936-1963